My waning interest in SotA--A plea to Richard and Starr

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bugmaster77, Feb 23, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bugmaster77

bugmaster77 Avatar

Greetings!

Before I start, I'd like to make it perfectly clear that with this post I am attempting to provide meaningful feedback. Nothing more. Take it, or leave it.

When I found this game I was quite excited, having been a player of Ultima Online for 14 years. After playing Ultima IV on a Commodore64, UO was, for me, exactly what I hoped computer gaming would become--A social experiment intrinsically linked to a fantasy world with detailed systems that encouraged innovation in interaction. So, when I started playing Shroud of the Avatar one of the first things I looked for was an extension of that. Initially, it looked like I had found exactly that. I found skill trees that clearly encouraged experimentation, group dynamics, solo mechanics, etc.

After playing for some time I've come to the conclusion that while there was focus on all of that when the skill trees were designed, the follow up in creating content that took advantage of all of the previous efforts was less than ideal. I've since concluded that the content is being developed without any consideration for the effort put into the skill systems. Let me provide an example.