Passes are a bad game mechanic

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Oyjord Hansen, Mar 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Oyjord Hansen

Oyjord Hansen Avatar

I'm no expert on the moongates, but it seems you have to wait about 12 mins for the next destination to rotate in, and it may not even be the one you want.

Stevvcash likes this.
  2. Lord Tachys al`Fahn

Lord Tachys al`Fahn Avatar

Yes there is some time involved, but if you're worried about gear damage due to dying, or gold loss because of the toll, then go do something until the gate you wish to catch is ready, until you are a high enough level to be able to handle the pas scenes. (Hint: It's not even that high a level to be able to take on most of the passes.) (Second hint: There is one pass that only takes time to get through, if you are observant).

3. Numa

Numa Avatar

There should be celestial events which make teleportation scrolls unreliable and also affect the pass mages by making them hike their fee up (because it makes their job harder).

I have so many "friends" in my friends list now that bypassing the passes is more often than not trivial. It shouldn't be trivial.

4. Rowell

Rowell Avatar

Personally, I'm not a fan of the current form of Control Point. It's merely a wave battle that increases in difficulty, ad nausium.
    It's like a grind where the mobs come to you (instead of you running around the area looking for them).

From a design perspective, I would like to see a control point area split into 3 different lanes, like so:

Entrance
    . . . . | . . .
    . / . .|. . \
    .1 . . 2 . . 3
    . \ . .| . ./
    . . . . | . . .
    . . .Exit .