what's your recording rig

Discussion in 'The Bards of Poets' Circle' started by Veylen The AenigmA, Apr 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Veylen The AenigmA

Veylen The AenigmA Avatar

As a bards that's trying to get an improved set I would like to ask what recording gear and software my fellow bards use. Currently my next purchase will be a midi controller or studio monitor but can't decide between the two, I imagine a midi controller would be more useful for a variety of production themes while a monitor would be better for production quality

2. Kailef

Kailef Master Bard

For note entry, my MIDI controller is a Novation Launchkey 25. It does a decent job and it's fairly inexpensive. Being a relative novice, I haven't worked with many others so I really can't say if it's a good choice or not, but it does well for my purposes.

The DAW I learned on is Samplitude Pro X2, which is what most of my SotA songs are made with. I've toyed with others such as Ableton Live, Bitwig and Studio One, and even though those are "better" DAWs, my comfort level with Samplitude is very high so I keep going back to it.

For audio recording I use a Shure SM7B connected through a Cloudlifer LC-1 Mic Activator to a PreSonus TubePro V2 box which provides the phantom power to the Cloudlifter and adds additional gain. From there we chain into a PreSonus Audiobox USB which is what I use to interface all that audio gear to my computer. This setup is by far the most expensive part of my recording rig. The difference between this setup and the Blue Microphones USB Yeti I used before is night and day. The Yeti was a great way to get a decent baseline of quality, but the SM7B (with the appropriate preamps) is amazing.

I use Sennheiser HD 280 Pro studio monitor headphones which connect to the back of my PreSonus Audoibox USB. They are a bit heavy, but they isolate outside sounds well, and they are comfortable to wear over long periods of time if needed.

3. potcorn