Nearly 18 month on, my view of the game

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Spungwa, Jul 18, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spungwa

Spungwa Avatar

So i have been playing this game for nearly 18 months and I thought i would write up my thoughts on the game.

This is my opinions and will not represent everyone, or maybe even anyone, else. This will be long post, going though all the aspects of the game and my take on them. When i drafted this, it is surprising to see the sheer amount of systems in this game for a new MMO. Abeit many need more depth added but that can happen over time.

I have done this for me, but thought I would post it as other may be interested, but obviously happy to hear other peoples view and opinions.

First a little about me, as this may help people know if my opinions would even be close to theirs.

About me

So I have played games since the mid 80's. I am not an Ultima fan, well to be more precise, I have never played an Ultima game so I dont know if I like Ultima. I am however a big fan of sandbox MMOs and player driven economies, this is what made me give Shroud a go.

My MMO history before Shroud is as below

SWG (pre jump to light speed) - 6 months
    Eve Online - 13 years
    World of warcraft* - 3 months (while still playing Eve too)
    Runes of Magic* - 6 months (while still playing Eve too)
    The Repopulation (kick started) - 3 months
    Archage - 1 year
    * Only played these as my room mate was playing.

So as you can see Eve is by far the biggest influence, so don't be surprised when a lot of this post compares things to Eve.

I'm a gamer rather than a roleplayer. Graphics in games mean very little to me, interface design matters, but not the level of graphics.

Even though i spent most of MMO game time playing a non-consensual PvP game (Eve Online) I am not a PvPer. I don't actively dislike PvP, I just don't generally spend much time in game PvPing.