Been caught stealing, Once, when I was a newbie.

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by Stabbath, Jan 11, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stabbath

Stabbath Avatar

So just got to highvale outskirts, went up elevator, saw a sack by combat merchant. Looted it like I have been doing elsewhere and a guard spawns on my face fining me. No idea how much gold he took tho and curious. I took like 2 or 3 metal scraps, or fabric, something like that. This gonna hurt anything, like, is there reputation in this game? Will npcs respond differently? Really don't want to reroll again lol. My current gold is 666 (I think, appropriate number for stealing I guess, har.)666 gold seems good for a starting character, so guessing he didn't take much gold. Don't know how much I had before the fine.

FrostII likes this.
  2. Asclepius

Asclepius Avatar

My first instinct is to say don’t worry too much, just be more careful. Yes there is reputation in the game, one minor infraction shouldn’t hurt you too much.
    To be certain, visit the oracle. Look for a temple-like building in most major cities. Inside there’s an automaton like face - click on it to have a conversation. Ask all the questions you can, she will talk all about the paths of truth, love and courage.
    Also, and importantly, find the keyword TEST. She can test how you are travelling with respect to the virtues - do you think you are doing OK? If you answer yes, and she agrees with you, you’re fine. You also get a cash and XP bonus.
    If she really is down on you you may want to reroll but I think this early in the game you could easily salvage your reputation.
    IIRC, most private things should be highlighted in red- just s hint not to take them

Jaesun, FrostII and Sean Silverfoot like this.
  3. Stabbath

Stabbath Avatar

Yea, most seem to be labeled private in Resolute. Nothing is labeled as such in highvale outskirts that I've come across.

FrostII likes this.
  4. Sean Silverfoot