New Player

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by cikken, Apr 11, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cikken

cikken Avatar

Hi,

I just started playing yesterday. I figured I would give you my first impressions:

From a game play perspective, I like the game. It has been fun discovering new things. I have mostly been doing quests in and around Soltown. I have been concentrating my skill ups around the concept of an archer/mage wearing leather armor. I have mostly been doing fire magic because I do not know how to quickly switch between two different card sets although I have tried not to completely neglect the archer component.

On the other hand, the frame rate makes it almost unplayable in towns. Even with all graphic setting set to minimums, I get a lot of freeze ups in towns while the game tries to display the town itself. I am running this on a 4 year old iMac. Below are my system hardware specifications. I am running the latest version of the MAC OS. Anybody got any ideas of how to improve the display frame rate? I can dual boot my iMac into Windows 10 using BootCamp. Do you think the graphics display would be better in Windows 10?

Regards,
    Cikken

Model Name: iMac
    Model Identifier: iMac14,2
    Processor Name: Intel Core i5
    Processor Speed: 3.2 GHz
    Number of Processors: 1
    Total Number of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
    L3 Cache: 6 MB
    Memory: 16 GB

NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M:
    Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 1 GB
    Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
    Device ID: 0x0fea
    Revision ID: 0x00a2
    ROM Revision: 3782
    Metal: Supported, feature set macOS GPUFamily1 v4
    Displays:

iMac:
    Display Type: LCD
    Resolution: 2560 x 1440 (QHD/WQHD - Wide Quad High Definition)
    UI Looks like: 2560 x 1440
    Framebuffer Depth: 24-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes