RNG

Discussion in 'Crafting & Gathering' started by Aldo, Jul 7, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Turk Key

Turk Key Avatar

Coming from a science and economic background, I have been taking most arguments against RNG with a grain of salt. I have no problem with the use of a random number generator in game design. There will always be those who get consecutive "losses" on the roll who claim foul, blaming the system not working when really it is. Up until now I have just dismissed such arguments out of hand. Recently however I have come to the realization that even if the RNG generator is working properly, the way it is used can lead to non-random outcomes.

I am not good at communicating my ideas effectively so bear with me....My example in fact has nothing to do with RNG. Remember awhile back when in the interests of addressing lag issues, Port decided that the health buffs were causing lag because they were updating one's health every tic? They decided to adjust the mechanic to only deliver the buff once every 5 tics. Over time the buff was the same, but the delivery was broken into fewer calculations. The argument was that because total health buff was the same over time that the solution essentially gave no change to game play. It turned out that was definitely not the case because when a player is close to death, waiting 5 seconds (tic) for the next accumulated buff was just too long and the player died more often than before the change. Game play was definitely changed, but the argument that the buff was not nerfed was never effectively challenged. We operate to this day with the change that "makes no difference".