GDC sesssion about controlling toxic player behavior -- (Dev) Replied

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Silent Strider, May 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Silent Strider

Silent Strider Avatar

It's not completely applicable to SotA, as this focus on how Riot Games handled the problem with toxic player behavior in LoL, but nevertheless it might be interesting. Also, the problem of toxic player behavior, as far as I can tell, was a real one for UO as well, and if not tackled might rear it's ugly head in SotA too.

http://gdcvault.com/play/1017940/The-Science-Behind-Shaping-Player

Time Lord likes this.
  2. Roxnee

Roxnee Avatar

I totally agree that this is something that SOTA needs to consider. I do believe this will make a much happier community .
    Thank you Silent Strider for this suggestion.

3. Jonathon.Doran

Jonathon.Doran Avatar

Thank you for posting that link. As a researcher, I have often felt that industry has ignored our work. I've seen people working on AAA games spend months working on a problem that had a known solution. Had they merely asked, we could have provided (at no cost) references to literature discussing the problem and providing solutions. I feel dismayed at this.

So I am very happy to see the folks at Riot Games doing this research, and doing a good job of it. The success of a game like SotA depends as much on psychology than it does on nice graphics. Maybe even more. And developers should not take a blind stab at getting things right, but instead they should set about to mold player experience and behavior.

(I would have written this in a green-blue font, but it looks like I'm stuck with white) :)

4. Evil Superhero

Evil Superhero Avatar