After reading a few threads about self healing and life.

Discussion in 'Skills and Combat' started by danjacobsmith, Apr 21, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. danjacobsmith

danjacobsmith Avatar

I just started playing a couple days ago, and thought I'd make a support character. Because of this I've stumbled upon a lot of threads about buffing/healing in Shroud of the Avatar.

A common theme I've read is that healing is a better defensive strategy than any of the defensive abilities in the game. Why learn to dodge for instance, if you can just get healing touch and it trumps going down a whole line of other defensive skills.

I think a decent solution would be to have a negative effect on healing abilities called empathy. The empathy you feel when you cast life magic would makes you do less damage for a short period of time. I also think the amount of empathy you feel should increase the higher the level of the life skill used.

Let me use an example. After casting a life healing spell for the next 10 seconds you would get a debuff that made you do half your skill level in reduced damage. So someone who uses a level 50 healing touch would do 25 percent less damage for 10 seconds after using the heal. This would also mean someone with only a 10 skill level would only see a debuff of 5 percent.

This would mean that people might still raise the skill high and use it for out of combat healing, or might choose a lower skill so they can use small spot heals in combat with very little effect to their damage. It would simply make players choose their strategy.

This would also promote dedicated healing and buffing while fixing the issues of defensive abilities being inferior to healing touch. Currently there's no reason to not take healing touch, and this quickly and easily adds a level of choice to character development.

Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
  2. Daevin Aruth

Daevin Aruth Avatar