Hello - I have a couple of questions.

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by Drygva, Oct 30, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Drygva

Drygva Avatar

Hello, I just started playing SotA and it has interesting mechanics and story-driven gameplay that interests me despite all downsides. Yet the tutorial and hints-as-you-go system are pretty vague on or poorly explain some game mechanics.

1. I understand the skulls on a pole system of area difficulty, but character progression is a mystery to me. The 1 skull areas are way too easy, yet the 2 skull areas aren't survivable. I have been leveling up my skills, purchased a few new ones and have a general idea of how my characters skill set meshes together. I spent a lot of time crafting to get better gear, yet I am only able to make stuff marginally better than the starting gear. It doesn't seem right for a game to expect me to drop 1000's of ingame gold on the craftwork of other players, as the armor i see in public vendors is much better, albeit expensive. My question is what I'm doing wrong progression-wise. It seems after nearly 20 hours of combat experience I should be able to progress to the next tier area, considering I'm surrounded by them on the world map. Is it my equipment, the skills I'm leveling up and using (primarily fire spells), or simply that I haven't put in the time to hone my character enough to be sufficiently prepared?

2. I have noticed that you can purchase recipes from some vendors, yet there's no telling where to buy recipes, even if you know what you need. Does crafting require these purchased recipes or can I craft something in the interface by simply looking up its required materials and meeting the proficiency requirement?