Confused...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by benjamint, Nov 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. benjamint

benjamint Avatar

I am new to this game, so forgive me if this is stupid...but I really don't understand the changes to casters. This is going to be long, so please bear with me. I wanted to play a caster. I wanted to be a necromancer just because it sounded fun. I got started with fire spells. Why? I don't know, but I am, so I use them and my skills start gaining skill points. Quickly, I realize that necromancy is pretty much impossible to utilize by itself at least until higher levels because the only damage you can do is to yourself. But I don't want to use fire...because I just don't like using what has been given to me...so I choose to couple death with earth (which has a very similar tree to fire). I have this thought that I will skill up both magic skills to a certain point then turn off earth and make death my main. In the meantime, I have turned off bludgeon skills because I don't feel poking something with a stick (wand) for two points of damage should be anything I continue to develop skill in...then release 36. Talk about how specialization is key to achieving the ultimate peak at higher levels in any given school. Also talk about resistances to magic...this doesn't sound good...

I still had that early quest to bring Geof an iron blade from East Perennial Trail. I went. You have to kill undead to get the blade...this is a one skull zone...death touch no longer damages them...so, in order to kill these guys I now need a different magic school or proficiency with a weapon...so I am being forced to not specialize, or to have to always run away from certain mobs. Or I am supposed to be some kind of hybrid player and magically know at the exact point in time to shut everything else down in order to achieve the peak in my school of preference.