New player questions

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by artigan99, Dec 18, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. artigan99

artigan99 Avatar

Hi everyone, I'm new to the game. I backed it in the first Kickstarter, way back when, and I've checked out the progress a few times, but today I was in there for a while trying to get a feel for it.

My biggest question is about combat. I took the bow as recommended, but gee, it's so clunky to use. I can't hit anything close to me, and I don't understand the 'charging' bar. It seems to have no effect. The best method I could come up with so far is to run backwards, while clicking my mouse as fast as possible, and then hitting the 1 key whenever the 'aimed shot' or whatever it is was off cooldown. Horrible experience, really.

Is there no way to lock onto a target? It's all FPS style point and shoot?

My second question is about the mouse cursor. It goes away when you don't have a window open, I get that part. But it also disappears at weird times, like when looting. It will just disappear while the loot window is open, and moving the mouse then moves my character. Is there something I'm supposed to do other than double-click to loot?

Also, is there no auto-loot, or group loot? I have to single-loot everything that died during a fight, even if they are right next to each other?

Anyway, I see potential in the game, and I realize it's early access and all, but it sure feels wonky at the moment.

2. Baratan

Baratan Avatar

Open options. Uncheck free attack. Double click a target for auto attack to start. Use your skills when available. Try attacking from higher ground.

I feel like free attack should be disabled by default as it's the more advanced option.

3. ldykllr

ldykllr Avatar

Hello and welcome! Some answers for you: