Computer ergonomics

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tahru, Aug 8, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tahru

Tahru Avatar

I have been developing software since the mid 80's and my life since then has been the majority in front of a computer. It really has come to a point where I experience physical pain in front of the computer. As much as when I play the bass or guitar for a long period and in just minutes of work. I spent a ton of cash, my own and the company's I work for, trying to make work comfortable. Yet, I am gaming which is even more stressful for me.

I am curious what other people found worked for them...

Two things worked for me...

1) The kneeling chair. Man this solved all my back problems in one swoop. I have been using these chairs for about 5 years now and I cannot imagine life without them.

2) This is still experimental for me, but the roller mouse has done a lot to keep me in the home row and relieve my wrist pain. I have tried track balls, track pads, side mice, air mice, "all" game controllers and keypads, and lots of different expensive gaming mice. Granted, there is something genius and natural about the traditional mouse that makes it hard to replace. But the roller mouse is darn close, Initially, it caused its own discomfort to my wrist because I was not used to its position, but I realized when I was giving up on it and went back to a regular mouse, just how much better it was for my pain. The good news about the roller mouse was that it only cost me shipping to try out as they have a try before buy program. At this point, I am going for a second one for work. I also tried pens with a touch screen, but you just cant play most PC games with them unfortunately.

cartodude and Spartus like this.
  2. StrangerDiamond

StrangerDiamond Avatar