Feeling discouraged with RP theme

Discussion in 'Avatars & NPCs' started by Poison Ivy, Dec 13, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Poison Ivy

Poison Ivy Avatar

So I started playing this past June, and seriously playing this past September. I am enjoying my build, a water/air mage, and have reached level 85. While I am not normally an RPer in MMOs, a lot of people on this server seem to be into it, so I even got involved in the Tower of High Sorcery. I am playing (or was hoping to play) an ice witch. That's where my problem lays - I feel sort of discouraged to try this theme, since no matter what I do, I will never have a fully ice (or weather) themed character. Why? Because I will never get my hands on old telethon emotes from before I started playing. It's really aggravating to walk up to someone, announce that you're an ice witch, and they can make it /snow and you can't. Sure, I picked up the /breathesnow emote, but it's just not the the same thing. Now I am on the fence on whether I should bother supporting Portalarium through the Add-On store at all, since I feel barred from something so basic.

I get the reasons behind limiting telethon rewards, I really do - it's to encourage people to buy during telethons, which is the whole point of having a telethon - they're encouraging people to spend money right then and there to raise capital. Making rewards available later is destructive to this goal. However, if the game is designed to draw people in and encourage roleplay, I am neither drawn-in nor encouraged. I feel pointlessly frustrated that I can't really pull a simple RP theme together all the way - ice gown, ice crown, ice staff, even bought the ice wings from someone... but no /snow for me ever, no matter how much gold I pay or how many other players I seek out. It really feels lame, and I feel punished for not playing since day 1. Am I whining? Sure am. I think this is something worth whining over.