Beginning Game Goals

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by moxiepilot, Jan 7, 2018.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moxiepilot

moxiepilot Avatar

So I try to get in the forums while my Avatar is collecting stuff, forgive me if I lose train of thought here.

I want to continue to give feedback as I delve more into the game, but continue to do it with a fresh perpective of a new player. I have maybe 100 hours under my belt now. (!) Which all things considered is a bit of time when I look back at when I started playing - Christmas week.

Anyway...with a bit of time under my belt I am still heavily reliant on the forums and the in game players I meet (plus discord and Teamspeak) to fill in blanks, because let's face it - I'm pretty dumb. So let's say I'm an slightly sub-average player for the target demographic.

Trust me when I say that I do understand a open-world concept and that there isn't always a bunch of handholding for this game. But what I do want to emphasize is that I do not feel as if a true purpose driving the game forward was ever really established, which leads me to flounder around without reason as I chop trees and skin wolves.

So if the devs and PM are looking for constructive feedback for the game, my recommendation would be that the opening training activities need to incorporate more of a direct feedback goal so that the user understands what the end goal is.

What I mean to say is that during the first campaign or two, for the tutorials, make Annabelle say, "Hey buddy, you're here to accomplish this, and the first few steps you need to take are such and such. Then I'll touch base with you along the journey - so talk to various people in this town and don't get too distracted trying to do this at the beginning."

It's helpful to have a guide that is *a guide* :)

I'm still having a blast; taking tomorrow off in the afternoon to hit the Telethon.

2. Stundorn

Stundorn Avatar

What is the Endgoal.