Change the release strategy

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jens_T, Apr 27, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jens_T

Jens_T Avatar

@Chris seeing that you push out a lot of “stuff” in monthly release cycles it is not surprising that bugs happen and not all features are properly tested.

Did you discuss/think about going to a different release strategy? For example splitting tech/game mechanics from scenery/quests? Every two months tech/mechanic updates could be rolled out and every other month scene updates, new npc and quests.

This ahould allow for more testing and “bigger” updates in the respective field or at least help you concentrate resources on one topic.

K1000, Bigg, Vyrin and 1 other person like this.
  2. moxiepilot

moxiepilot Avatar

Heck, I don't understand why they don't push on an as needed basis. But then again I'm no programmer

3. Vyrin

Vyrin Avatar

It's a particular development methodology. Rolling out as-needed reflects other methodology choices, probably better when there is less that needs to be done. SotA is truly ongoing full development, but there is a good question as Jens_T proposes as to whether the methodology should change now that things are post-release. I think the underlying question is, with so much left to do post-release, how long can the game hold someone's attnetion if they are waiting for an update or improvement? Would two months try people's patience too much for waiting for new content/performance improvements?

K1000, Chatele and moxiepilot like this.
  4. Deadly Habit

Deadly Habit Avatar

I'm still waiting on more fishing and brewing...

5. Jens_T

Jens_T Avatar

That’s why I believe alternating tech & gameplay/scene updates would allow for enough novelty buzz while allowing more testing and better resource planning.