Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

Class testing feedback: Mage vs Archer vs Fighter

Discussion in 'Release 12 Feedback' started by Maerlin Rebeard, Dec 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maerlin Rebeard

Maerlin Rebeard Avatar

Once I reached level 40 in R12 and has some skill points to easily throw around I spent some time playing different classes of character builds. These are some very basic observations based entirely on Solo play. I'm by no means an avid MMO, RPG, or D&D gamer - these are strictly my observations and opinions. I don't claim to play any of these classes particularly well and I'm fairly new to SoTa with limited hours invested thus far (started end of R11).

Mage (pure magic user): This is what I have played the most in R12
    • Almost impossible to play without constant death. This is not uncommon to other games and has always frustrated me as it is my favorite play style. While its not clear yet how much sting to death there will be, death in a game in general detracts from the game being immersive. A pure mage should be wearing cloth. I like the fact that there is a downside to wearing leather or heavy armor (in slugs and fizzle), but I think that should be a much larger downside. I found I could still cast 'well enough' in plate armor which is a joke. In fact, I would vote for no spell casting ability at all if you are wearing heavy armor - not even light spells... torches and lanterns should have a purpose.