Greagoir Pendragons Guide to GM Taming and other taming skills - updated Current Release

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by Duke Gréagóir, Mar 7, 2018.

1. Duke Gréagóir

Duke Gréagóir Legend of the Hearth

Welcome to the world of taming animals in Shroud of the Avatar! I am excited about this and I hope you will be too.

My goal is hoping this helps someone think about taming as a career path in SotA. I really like having a pet battle along side of me while I am adventuring. With the Release 51 introduction of Specializations, I think it now can be.

Release 95 2021 Update - A new Taming Museum is available to tour in the POT of Dara Brae, read this posting for more details! https://www.shroudoftheavatar.com/f...-dara-brae-grand-opening.170345/#post-1332549

The path was not easy and I learned a lot about how to tame and I wanted to share this with you. I am still learning and made decisions to be able to GM my taming skills. I am not one who mows down opponents fast with Area of Effect spells or high level blades skills. I am a Druid who uses some spells and a staff. I made the choice to focus more on taming as I have loved taming creatures since early Ultima Online.

Here is my current skills, I have GMed all of the taming skills (all are at least 100 each). Current as of 2021:
    ** update - Tame Creature is now level 162 needed to tame the Red Snarler Wolf. Red Snarler Wolf has 69K hit points in the wild and is a T14+ level in the wild.
    [​IMG]

R70 added the Frenzy skill.

We will discuss the taming skills in the above tree down the page a bit. Lets cover some important things you will need to know before you start

Making your Taming tools

I found these recipes in the NPC town of Ardoris (Take the Lunar Rift to Solace Bridge, exit to the Overland Map and go south). Travel to the Market area and go to the Equipment Building (the sign says Equipment) and see the General Merchant Doris Jeanette. She have 4 recipes you need: