Is there any point to using light armor?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fireflygirl, Nov 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fireflygirl

fireflygirl Avatar

I am pretty new to the game, just started on release 12 but I'm not new to these sorts of games and have a pretty good grasp of the mechanics. I have been trying to do a dual wielding light armor character and it seems completely ineffective. I'm level 35 and have taken every damage reduction possible(including earth magic) and every damage bonus possible for my dual wielding and blades. The issue is that I can be able to solo anything outside of west ravenwood, my DPS dose not seem to be increased in any significant way, dodging seems pointless and it seems going anything less then full tank or full mage is just crippling myself, am I missing something or is heavy armor just so OP currently that this sort of build is not an option?

I have been loving the game so far, but I don't want to play the heavy armor tank like everyone else in the guild or go full mage(It feels like we are all carbon copies of the same two character). Any advice would be welcome, has anyone been able to make a ranger/rouge build that is effective? If you have please share it and point out what I am doing wrong or just confirm my suspicions that currently not using full plate as a melee fighter is suicide.

Sebastion and Time Lord like this.
  2. Bowen Bloodgood

Bowen Bloodgood Avatar

You'll hear this a LOT.. but you should keep in mind this is still pre-alpha with a long way to go. Nothing is completely balanced yet and what is effective now may not be effective later.