Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

Journal Feature Ideas

Discussion in 'Release 32 Feedback Forum' started by LoneStranger, Aug 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LoneStranger

LoneStranger Avatar

When I started playing SotA after the wipe, I worked on the first quests to get you out of the newbie hubs and into the rest of the world. I often would check my Journal Notes/Quests to see what I needed to do.

While I am not against how it is organized (by your discovery time, not grouped by subject) I feel like the journal is still a bit tedious. The notes it takes are sometimes not detailed, but that's probably ok, as it's primary purpose is to remind you what you need to do or where to go to continue a quest or move the story forward. I have a Google doc opened to take better notes for all things, not just story, because it is easier for me to organize and find what I am looking for.

I had a couple ideas on how to make the in-game journal easier to read for those who have done a lot of story/quest progression:
    • The ability to minimize entry paragraphs and have it persist between sessions.
    • The ability to tag entries, so that we could either cross things out (show a red X over the entry) or circle entries as more important, or even circle them with different colors for our own system of tagging what is important to us.
    • Have the Journal remember the last page viewed for either section, and open to that for quicker reference to our current goal being progressed.
    • Being able to change the font between a few choices so we can pick one that is easier on our individual pairs of eyes. This might be good in general for all books.
    If anyone has any other ideas to make journals better, feel free to post.

2. PrimeRib

PrimeRib Avatar

The concept exists in some form in most games so I won't repeat too much about what the devs should already know.