New Player - Initial thoughts after 1 hour gameplay

Discussion in 'New Player Experience Feedback' started by Dereck Visaard, Mar 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dereck Visaard

Dereck Visaard Avatar

Hi all, I've been watching SOTA's development over the past year or so and decided it's time to jump in! I'm a veteran player of the Ultima series, starting in 1988 with Ultima 5. I remember bringing the box to my Dad at an old COMPUSA and not leaving the house for days after. I played it on my super fast Tandy 1000SL. Ahh, those were the days. I was instantly hooked. I went back and played Ultima I and eventually played every Ultima released. Back in 2012, thanks to midlife nostalgia, I grabbed online (legit) copies of U1-8 and played most of them all over again. Ahh, Serpent Isle...

Ok, so enough of that. Time for first impressions with SOTA :)

SOTA, immediately felt like the old days (in a good way). Richard, Tracy, and the whole team managed to pluck my childhood nostalgia out and show it to me. It FEELS like I'm back in Britannia. It FEELS like Britannia needs me again. That depth is hard to pull off and you guys and gals did it. Bravo! Thank you :) I've missed this feeling.

Gameplay: I mapped the movement controls to the arrow keys with ease and navigated by keyboard for a while until I decided to try out the mouse. Easy peasy. Movement controls are intuitive and mode switching, gump navigation, etc. is familiar. The only knock I have on the main interface is the dialog window (not sure of official name)...