Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

New pledge, trying Linux client, need direction from devs/gurus

Discussion in 'Release 21 Feedback' started by mercster, Aug 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mercster

mercster Avatar

Hi,

I just pledged today and am trying out the pre-alpha (been a fan since Ultima5, this is great!)

My question is mainly to devs, or anyone who has been around long enough to kinda know how things have been going. With my hardware (Intel i5 quadcore 3.2Ghz, Geforce 610 w/ 2G vram, 8G ram) I get about 3-5fps in the client. I've been running Linux since 1994 or so, and I know what I'm doing (binary drivers are updated, compositing turned off, SotA graphical settings dont seem to make much difference, etc). I understand why (pre-alpha software) and am not complaining, but I'm curious what to do.

Does anyone really care about Linux bugs at the moment? I don't know whether the team is interested at this point in development; reporting Linux-specific bugs/performance issues may be beyond their scope at this time. If it is important to have Linux testing/bug reporting being done, I can try to stick it out. If more general bug-reporting is needed at this time, and having a playable (i.e. not 5fps) test platform is more important, I can easily install Win7/Win10 (it'd probably be a bit more fun too ;-)

So, anyone with ideas on this, holler back.

Merc

2. Burzmali

Burzmali Avatar

Turn the shadows off, as a Linux user using a weaker machine a year ago, that helped the most. Also stare at your feet, I suspect that the devs like Linux users to remain penitent.

3. mercster

mercster Avatar

As I stated in the post, I turned off all special graphical effects and chose "Fastest" for quality. No discernible fps difference.

Hah, I did stare at my feet, got 10fps out of that! :)

4. Alley Oop

Alley Oop Bug Hunter Bug Moderator