Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

post-summer overworld feedback

Discussion in 'Release 22 Feedback' started by mike11, Oct 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mike11

mike11 Avatar

Hi yall... Back again with some feedback at the latest version iteration.

Big concern - I still cannot get into the avatar movement and overall gameplay on the overworld map. My main issue is I don't think the current method of the Avatar(s) existence, role, and look is not appropriate for that particular area of the game.

For so long, this game had a very, very rudimentary overworld by design. It is obviously the effect of the very early game development, something which I have no other experience with. So not understanding really how this all gets made, Sota has no previous blueprint game engine that it is being copied from as just about everything including the game engine itself is highly built from scratch afaik/understand. That said I still don't understand what Sota's direction will be concerning the overworld map at this point in time. The dev's initially stated the OW was simply a travel map and was going to have some basic interactive elements.

I don't think they nailed the Avatar avatar on the OW at this point. Something makes him look way to big in relation to the other scale of the world.

Please can we see some more denser forests than what we are currently seeing? Talking Fangorn Forest here. In order to show mountains at such scale and then show individual trees so huge in comparison is beyon comprehension in my mind.

I still don't get the art style for the OW in general although some terrain looks better than others.

Borders/edges are still not defined well enough, what if we could actually have some sort of thin but easy to see (high contrast) outline of the different planes of walking?

I think things like wagons would look more appropriately scaled as travel 'icons', on the OW map.