Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

R13 Linux Performance Thread

Discussion in 'Release 13 Feedback' started by fooBrew, Jan 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fooBrew

fooBrew Avatar

I've been playing a few weeks on R13 now and I have to say that the performance is not good. I'm new to the game so this is my first release and I don't have any previous releases to compare it to.

Now that the Steam client supports FPS feedback on the game screen, I can give more objective numbers.

I'm playing full screen at 1920x1080 with all features disabled (shadows, blooming, etc.) and the "Fast" setting selected.

GPU: GTX650 TI Boost
    CPU: AMD FX-6350 Vishera 3.9GHz 6 core
    RAM: 8 GB DDR3 1866
    GPU Driver: NVidia 331.113

FPS
    Owls Head: 7-12 but it goes up to the low 20's around the edge of the city.
    All other areas: low to mid 30's.

As much as I absolutely love the fact SotA runs natively (without WINE!) on Linux, it's pretty much unplayable with the current performance. I play other games through WINE/CrossOver, such as Diablo III and Neverwinter, with far, far better performance than this so I don't think it's just my GPU but maybe I'm wrong (I would love to be wrong).

I'm still hopeful of a couple things. One, R14 will be on a new version of Unity. Hopefully, there will be Linux improvements there. Two, the game really isn't very optimized at all, especially in the big towns as the devs keep reminding us. However, I have been watching some youtube vids of Windows gameplay on R13 and it's shocking how much smoother and faster it is. Granted, I have no idea what hardware they're on so it could be like comparing guns and butter. Windows vs. Linux performance usually isn't that different from what I've experienced in the last 3-5 years with many games (AAA titles) so I'm not sure what the deal is here since there's not even any translation software involved.