State of the SOTA address by a veteran player

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by danjacobsmith, Mar 18, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. danjacobsmith

danjacobsmith Avatar

I started playing Sota two releases before persistence and have played almost a thousand hours since then. The game itself has made tremendous gains in most major areas including stability, content and general game play.

I'd like to take the time to review the progress that has been made since persistence and share some opinions.

It's hard to talk about Sota from a long term perspective without talking about stability. For the first few months it was not uncommon for most of us to crash multiple times a day and some of us almost every hour. On the first day after persistence I personally crashed at least three times just trying to get off the first island. Fortunately they've made incredible gains in this department and most of us can go days or weeks without any crashes at all. The game at this point is stable enough for release and is one of the areas where Portalarium has made excellent progress.

In the last few releases the content has been coming fast and furiously. The new zones and dungeons prove that Portalarium can create amazing worlds with extreme detail and functionality. Their biggest problem is the sheer quantity of content that needs to be redone and the large amount of resources that would take. The newest dungeon for instance is very detailed and has objects that can be picked up much like we'd expect from an Elder Scrolls game. It honestly feels like content from a AAA title.