TOUR GUIDES?- How do they work?

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by Nightsong, Apr 3, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nightsong

Nightsong Avatar

Hello,
    I am new to SOTA & have found the Tour Guide Salesman.

Can anyone please explain (in fairly simple terms = Newbie).....
    1. What is their purpose?
    2. Whether I should buy the guides? (Some of them relate to zones I have been to or are currently questing in)
    3. Do the tour guides show your through a zone?
    4. Do I have to buy more than 1 of the Tour Guide books?
    Hoping someone can enlighten me o_O

2. majoria70

majoria70 Avatar

Hello Kaffe and welcome. I hate to say it but I have not yet started the new Tour Guide Quest yet. Did you check your journal to see if it gives instructions? You can do that by clicking on j which brings up your journal. Currents tasks might show what those instructions are. So thanks for asking the question. I will try to bring some help in here. @Berek

Kaffe Nightbreeze likes this.
  3. Womby

Womby Avatar

Are these the books available in
    Soltown
    ?
    Those tour guides are not especially helpful in my view (they are deliberately vague/superficial). You do not need them (they do not contain essential information).
    They are, however, a pleasant enough read. I was not aware that there was a tour guide quest, so I can't comment on that aspect.

Disclaimer: I wrote the one on the Necropolis.

Last edited: Apr 3, 2018
    Kaffe Nightbreeze likes this.
  4. Kara Brae

Kara Brae Avatar

The books are simply non-valuable collector‘s items in my estimation. Written by players in the pre-release aera, some are funny, some are written like a player‘s journal of discovery, but they are not essential to have.

Last edited: Apr 3, 2018
    Spoon likes this.
  5. Kara Brae

Kara Brae Avatar