Viability of Leather Wearing Archers

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by cikken, Jul 9, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cikken

cikken Avatar

I started playing Shroud of the Avatar about 2 years ago but I have only played about a couple of months during that time. My Adventure Level is 100. I currently play an archer spec'd in Ranged and Fire. I have about 30 GMs spread across Ranged, Fire, Air, and Taming with a few others such as basic healing thrown in there for good measure. Some of these GM skills I do not currently use as they did not meet my expectations. I pretty much solo because that is what I enjoy doing. I have been grinding in the Kobold Expeditionary camp which is a tier 5+ zone. I use a pet to tank areas where I know I cannot single pull. Otherwise I just kill singles with archery. I use leather so that I can cast some support magic as Ignite Weapon and Immolate without too bad of fizzles. I use Gust to fend off adds. The immolate is so that I can do some passive damage when I get mobbed. Up until recently when I added a tamed pet, Gust and immolate where my only CC skills. I use the bard health and focus regens to help survive when things start getting tough. I have noticed that as my offensive capabilities have increased my defensive capabilities have not. My character wearing just bone leather (for resists and avoidance) is fairly fragile. If I get more than 1 yellow ranged attacking me at once, my health plummets and I have to run and hope I make it. I can definitely see that I am going to have problems advancing into higher tier zones.