World chat

Discussion in 'Archived Topics' started by Fei Akhart, Jul 2, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fei Akhart

Fei Akhart Avatar

Since I started playing I found strange not to have the possibility of "world chat". Is there any reason for this type of chat not to exist (in addition to the private, zone and local)?

I see this type of chat as a great way for players to interact, regardless of which map they are on, decreasing the impression that the game is empty.

And if people do not want to see that kind of chat, just turn it off.

2. MetricPig

MetricPig Avatar

I suspect it is to give the game a sense of scale and distance, with locaL communities etc.
    However, given the current active population it may be time to consider this.
    Another option is regional chat if the population is too large for world chat.

Coffee Pirate, Fei Akhart and Xandra7 like this.
  3. Selene

Selene Avatar

I'd imagine one reason is lack of staff for proper moderation.

Fei Akhart likes this.
  4. Browncoat Jayson

Browncoat Jayson Legend of the Hearth

It's easy to search the forum and find many discussions on this.

The biggest reason for not having global chat is spam. Every game with global chat has had to either put in code to prevent the bulk of spam (gold sellers, RMT, etc), or have staff to respond to reports. While SotA allows RMT transactions, they must be initiated in the forums or other offline location.

Even scene chat was only added with the option to disable it, due to fear the larger and more popular s enes (big cities, Outskirts, etc) would be flooded by spammers.

I hope they don't add a global chat, but if they do I suggested making it pay-to-enter. For example, you buy an Ornate Orb that adds a chat channel, just like the Nobles Orb. If you get removed for spamming, you've still payed to improve the game.

Jaesun, majoria70, Lained and 3 others like this.
  5. Violet Ronso

Violet Ronso Avatar