Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

first impressions.

Discussion in 'Release 3 Feedback' started by Distrum Druharad, Feb 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Distrum Druharad

Distrum Druharad Avatar

Played a lot of rpgs and openworld games. And I am a nwn module designer. So far it looks like all the attention has been on graphics. I see why its alpha.

I commend the staff who worked on the outside layout of cities and nature as it is the best I have seen in this sort of style.

I can see a lot of quite easy to fix things that would make the game a lot more playable. Trying to get directions every time i have a place to go does not often deliver. The game needs way more obvious keywords for conversations or alternatively a compus/map. Character creation sucks big time.

A very big upgrade on ultima online but nothing compared to standard character creation in most mmos, including indie games. Its not the graphics that are a problem for me just the lack of even a small amount of options. Cannot see me being able to get my friends to play. Feels a lot like nwn with more graphical smoothness but none of the charm.

Signposts need to be more clear than having to go right up close to look at it when in real life i can read a sign at least 50 feet away. The designers sound like they know what they are doing in regards to skills/abilities and number crunching. But if this is as messy (as in cluttered) as ultima online was (which can be forgiven for being the first mmorpg) then it will basically suck. I will probably play anyway cos i am a roleplayer. But i am worried that it won't pay off. So far I think one person working on a city could. with an amateur level of ability, be able to flesh it out in a logical format rather than a haphazard array of confusion. And do not get me wrong I do not mean the visual look- thats great, i mean the way the player can navigate the city.