For the sake of curiosity: Shadowrun Returns

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Salix, Jul 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Salix

Salix Avatar

I'm creating this thread to discuss the newly released Shadowrun Returns game, another project funded via Kickstarter that was released last week. I bought the game, the first one for me that was financed through such a venue, and think it'd be a good discussion topic as to understand what the goals of the developers were and how they materialized in the final product, and maybe compare to the current development of SotA.

I'm no game developer and have no idea the trials and tribulations of such an industry. Don't know how much it costs and how much time it takes to create a game from the ground up.

That being said, I'm nine hours into Shadowrun Returns and must say I'm sourly disappointed. Maybe I had some unrealistic expectations (and here is where my lack of knowledge in the matter might play a part), but I think the game is lacking in every department, expect, maybe, for the writing and the modding tools it comes with.

Why am I disappointed? First of all, the game doesn't have a manual save feature, only recording your progress through a checkpoint system, that is triggered on map transitions. This does not impact the gameplay much, but I think is a very serious fault and just contrasts with the nature of any good RPG (at least cRPGs).

The game is linear. Very linear, to the point where you can't choose where to go and what to do. You are catapulted from screen to screen without any say on what to do. Your dialogue choices seems to matter very little and have no impact on the story.