Why did I love Ultima 7, and am 'meh' about SotA?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sir Cabirus, Mar 11, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Duke Gréagóir

Duke Gréagóir Legend of the Hearth

I love the Ultima single player games. Especially Ultima 3 and Ultima 9.

I started playing Ultimas in 1983.

Ultima 3 let me have 4 player characters that I controlled. They did not whine about eating or other things. I could make the any class, so if I wanted 4 mages I could. It was the best D&D simulator in 1983. I loved the story line of Ultima 9. The 3D world way great for its day. I show everyone Ultima 9 first when they are newly playing an Ultima for the first time. The story line for Ultima 9 really shines to me.

The rest of the Ultima single player games were play once, enjoy it, shelf it for all eternity. Remain in my personal collection at Ultimamuseum.com. The feelies are great In every Ultima game.

Single player in SOTA is my end game. When Portalarium shuts down I expect them to just release a final version that I can play onwards forever on my PC in SPOffline. This will be in 10+ years at least if not more. I have bought everything I need for Dara Brae on my account to keep it alive for posterity.

For me, I would rate the games in order from best to worst : SOTA, Ultima 3, Ultima 9, then all other Single player Ultimas. Finally UO at the bottom. UO was very frustrating with the egos of the l33t until EA fixed it with TRAMMEL! I still play UO occasionally, as SOTA really replaced it.

I still love all of the worlds Richard Garriott created. Host storylines and his decisions is what makes an Ultima an Ultima! Without him it is just another blah RPG. Remember Lords of Ultima and Ultima Foerver? Not Ultima.

Stahlknecht and HoustonDragon like this.
  2. smack

smack Avatar