Interesting (Splitting Single-Player from Multiplayer?)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Poor game design, Feb 17, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Grave Dragon

Grave Dragon Avatar

I am by no means a programmer, but I can't imagine removing the requirement to own an adventurer pledge to log in for offline mode only would be difficult.

We do have just under 6 months to release after all.

There was another thread posted not long ago making the suggestion that Ep1 offline be made free to play and it was actually received very well.

The only real difference would be the inclusion of all offline episodes with the minimum pledge purchase, which would be a little higher cost than it is now, but that in my opinion is an inevitability anyway.

2. Drocis the Devious

Drocis the Devious Avatar

Well, my Steam library has tons of DLC so I'll say virtually all of them.

The most recent example being X-COM 2. I could buy just the stand alone game or I could buy the deluxe package that included a bunch of other stuff. Expansions down the road will be purchasable at an additional cost. What's the difference between that and what I'm talking about? Nothing as far as I can tell.

Grave GodsHammer likes this.
  3. HoustonDragon

HoustonDragon Avatar

This is not to invoke the Darkstarr rule of "Don't lawyer me, bro!", but I would think from a legal standpoint it would be extremely messy and incur extra risk for Port to try and make that change for Ep 1 right before the game goes permanent. If you notice with Star Citizen, they are very clear to mark a cutoff point for any future pledges to show a clean line of demarcation between folks that will have both versus the split versions.