Music Making Month Marathon Megathread (of the Avatar)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Holt, May 31, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. j15r

j15r Avatar

Oddly enough, yes. I started playing a few years ago, but my ability to practice frequently was somewhat limited by the subsequent arrival of my firstborn :)

All the same, I can get a good sound as long as I don't have to play anything super complex. And I can manage some more complex pieces if I have a bit of time to practice and slow it down a little (thank god for modern recording software and the ability to fix tempo).

I'm not terribly good at composition outside of simple melodies, but as I said before I'm glad to record tracks for others. I have a fairly good mic, and a quiet place in the basement that suffices for a studio.

rild and Holt like this.
  2. Kailef

Kailef Master Bard

dp_dropout,

This is really great stuff. Especially so, since you present it as sub-par since you aren't playing the instrument personally. Makes me excited to hear some of it done acoustically.

j15r,

Speaking of acoustic, do you have any samples of things you've recorded before? I'd love to hear something you've played, even if it's not related to SotA, and I'm sure I echo Holt's desire as well.

Holt likes this.
  3. j15r

j15r Avatar

I just got a decent mic and got it setup for recording yesterday, so I don't have much yet. But I'll go record a few bars tonight and upload a sample. After a couple of hours of fiddling yesterday, I think I finally got the recording quality to a level I'm happy with.

Mordecai and Holt like this.
  4. Holt

Holt Avatar

Great work so far, guys, and it's only day 2!

I was messing around with a very simple melody and bass idea today. It's on the Renaissance Lute and Bass Viola da Gamba from the ERA Medieval Legends instrument library.