new player / first impressions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Stinkefaul, Apr 12, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stinkefaul

Stinkefaul Avatar

Hi everyone,
    My ingame/character name is Stinkefaul and I’m new to SotA.

I’m an old UO Veteran, I played it from 1997 to 2003, and several MMOs after that. Some of them as beta tester (DDO, LOTRO, ESO), but none of them reached the level of addiction UO did. I also played Ultima VII, VIII & IX.

I startet SotA 2 days ago with the Adventurer pledge, but I’m willing to spend a lot more money, when it develops into a game I really enjoy, and not into “yet another MMO RPG”…

So far I have mixed feelings about the game, in general it looks really nice, I like the whole housing thing, with cellars… I can build my own little dungeon under my house! :)

Also the fact that you can solo play it, most other MMO RPGs have little to none solo content and you die very very often when not playing in a group. OK, in SotA you die also very often, until you get a full set of augmented plate armor, then you are nearly invincible when fighting NPCs, even at lowest levels. Combat still needs a lot of work in balancing! Also fighting looks…. uurgh… :confused:
    But I like the deck system, it is something new and could be fun, I will test this a little bit more in the next days.

The overlandmap is also a concern to me.
    I understand that it is necessary due to a limitation of the game engine. But it really looks a bit out of place. There are only some small paths from one place to another, it reminds me somewhat of Heroes of Might & Magic or Kings Bounty. On this kind of map I also don’t see a reason to implement horses or boats later on.The map should be more like the overland map of the game “Mount&Blade” , bigger, with more open space where you actually have a reason to use a horse or a boat…