Things that made UO the best game ever

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sedat, Dec 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sedat

Sedat Avatar

Hey all, just learned about this sota and am very excited, planning to contribute in the near future but wanted to quickly post why I feel UO was the best game ever made in hopes of highlighting certain qualities to the development team of sota.
    I started playing UO during beta and was blown away. I believe the biggest thing UO brought to the table like no other game has was skill based play over item based play. The constant threat of losing your hard earned items made equipment selection something to be carefully considered. This in a sense leveled the playing field so that casual gamers with the right blend of skill and strategy could compete with hard-core gamers much more effectively. Also, knowing your items would be up for grabs upon death could bring you closer together with fellow players at times, I made some of my best in game friends by helping them retrieve belongings from their corpse in dungeons or being helped by others to retrieve my items. I also made some of my biggest enemies by scammers , thieves, and murderers that scored my items. Both situations drastically improved the game in my opinion though and added a level of realism that has not been duplicated in gaming since.
    I loved how scarce property eventually became which made a small home in a prime location worth as much as a tower in the middle of nowhere.
    I loved wandering the woods with nothing but my death robe in search of animals to tame and happening across houses that had collapsed, or unusual buildings that had no explanation.
    I also loved the varied play styles the skill system made available. Animal taming was my personal favorite but I remember having just as much fun playing tradesman, melee warriors, or thieves.