Dialogue system and localization complexity...?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tekkamansoul, Nov 2, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tekkamansoul

tekkamansoul Avatar

So, this has been bugging me for a while, probably since we first saw Lum show off his dialogue system in one of the hangouts. I pushed it away, but it came back a few weeks ago when I was talking to my brother about a game he's programming. He wants to include easy localization support but also wants to have an interactive dialogue system. He asked me for input because my degree is in a linguistics related field.

I immediately thought of Shroud and how it (looks) like the dialogue is being implemented. From what I can tell, and bear in mind it hasn't been extrapolated in too much detail, but: NPCs have a range of inputs that are specific English phrases, and there is an output "pool" of dialogue that may be shared between several NPCs. (To have the effect of, say, town guards between cities probably sharing the same generic information, but only guards in specific cities would know about their own lord... or something like that.)

While this is a really efficient approach on the NPC's dialogue end, it worries me that the number of legitimate "question phrases" will have to be massively inflated because of how many varities of phrases will be needed: I recall Lum asking for variations on common phrases like "good morning" and "how are you"; if there's 15 variations in English there needs to be a relatively equivalent number in every language the game is localized in, and this can pose a huge problem. The large amount of time it takes to translate is only one issue; it would take at least two people (one native English and one native target language speaker) to properly convey all the nuance and accomodate for specific idioms in the other language that don't appear in English... etc.