Dungeoneering difficulty?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Veylen The AenigmA, May 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Veylen The AenigmA

Veylen The AenigmA Avatar

I was wondering for those that have given it a go how hard is it learning curve wise? All I have to compare to are old school doom, quake and unreal editors. The last I had experience with these editors was unreal ed class in college but a month long course leaves a lot of technical skill gaps.

The level making process had been an initial passion of my since I started playing PC games. I know it's a lot more complex that making doom maps cause it's 3d so if anyone could give me an idea of the difficulty levels of said dungeon erring it would be greatly appreciated as always. Been checking out the noob dungeons around owls head. Thus it has rekindled my interest in it due to fond memories!

2. jiirc

jiirc Avatar

Not sure if this is what you are looking for, but take a peek at Chris's talk from Tuesday. He's going through a level creation. Granted it doesn't Ave much in the way of scripting but it is a good intro into what it takes to lay out an outdoor hex. Also take a look into his earlier talks about using unity.

3. Veylen The AenigmA

I watched most of that vid. I remember in doom it was an additive process but with unreal ed it was an extrusion process it looks from that vid that unity is somewhere in between? I'd like to tinker with maps and or dungeon design whichever is easiest to dip my toes in. Hope that clarifies.

Kinda unclear on doom level editing. I forget what exactly it was like I just know the more prevalent 3d games became the harder it got

4. abovenyquist

abovenyquist Avatar

As far as using the dungeon kit, it's an additive process. Be sure to get the latest version of the "snap tool."

Unity is joy to use in general; I recommend getting your feet wet at least! :)

5. Veylen The AenigmA