Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

First time checking out the SOTA (My feedback)

Discussion in 'Release 9 Feedback' started by Whitestag, Aug 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Whitestag

Whitestag Avatar

Well I have to say I am one of the old ones in gaming spanning 35 years from the mudds in 1979, and my son spanning 26 years when I started programming games for him at 4/5 years old on the commodore. We both have pledges.

I hear some being very critical of the game. Just be aware you have the opportunity to see it created from square one, That is rare if not a developer. Some look at it as though its all fleshed out and this is the end result. Be aware you may never get the chance again to see this done from start to finish let alone be involved as you are in SOTA, unless your hand picked alpha or you manage to get into beta or still yet have to wait for the release.

All developed games will start with the base and work out, example is they want to get the attack of a bear right, they are not to concerned about what the bear looks like, once attack movement and pathfinding or roaming and aggro range, damage ect in place its a easy graphic and tweek for any mob animal after that.

Being a founder in whatever way was a act of trust to the developers based on their experience and vision. Also their openness to input from others to create a game that will stand the test of time, based on input from many, crowd funded and crowd sourced. They could have done it through a large publishing corporation, with investors or solo for that matter.

Point is, be constructive, although you have a good idea it may not work for other reasons and explaining that to a huge mass of people is time consuming although I see a great feedback on this in the developers question and answer thread.