Review of the offline game

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jregel, Sep 23, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jregel

jregel Avatar

I recently completed the Path of the Oracle in offline mode, so thought it would be worth sharing a few of my thoughts on how the game plays in offline, single player mode. I only started playing when the game went GA, and have only played offline.

Beware: Spoilers!

Generally speaking, I enjoyed the narrative, even though some it was a bit rough around the edges. The Path of Love felt the most developed, although it wasn't initially obvious that I would need to switch paths until I was stronger. The scenes are all very well designed and beautiful to look at.

I found the Path of the Oracle disappointing. Once the objective to retrieve the artefacts was given by the Oracle, there was barely any additional NPC dialogue required. It became a simple grind-fest to get each page/lens and although the various Ruins were different, there wasn't a huge variety in playing through them.

The Colossus scenes weren't that interesting to play through either. I thought the puzzles in the Boreas Colossus scene didn't integrate well into the gameworld and felt unsatisfying. The Grannus Colossus was extremely difficult, even with my companions assisting, and didn't feel well balanced. I basically had to sprint through the last part of it.

I really enjoyed playing with my three companions alongside me. There were some parts of the story where it stated I would have to do something on my own (fighting the mobs in the Kobold camp was one example), but I guess this was written for the online game, as I had my companions with me and they helped me.