RMT, the Economy and plans for the future

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Superbitsandbob, Sep 28, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Superbitsandbob

Superbitsandbob Avatar

When I started playing SoTA I had no idea that RMT was allowed. Had I done I may have thought twice about supporting the game.

I have nothing against it as such. I dislike the self entitled attitude that people who play all day often have where they believe they should have everything first, better and for ever. I think giving people the opportunity to obtain something they would not otherwise be able to because they are casual is a good idea. Is RMT the right way of doing it?

I think the free housing for certain pledges combined with RMT is potentially already having a big impact on the economy. I'm sure some players came into the game with this in mind, to try to corner the market as it were. This could be off-putting for new players coming into the game. Is incentivising powergamers with the opportunity to make real money from in-game items in any way a good idea for the long term health of the game.

I also watched a video today where a Youtuber seemed to state (unless I got the wrong end of the stick) that they were the official RMTer for Portalarium and stated Portalarium are making money from their RMT transactions. Now I thought that all transactions of this kind were supposed to take place on the forums. Having watched this channels videos this person often tells people to dismiss the reviews they have read and give the game a go. Is there a conflict of interest here? You have someone making money from RMT actively encouraging people to try the game that the devs are apparently involved with.

As some who is enjoying the game at the moment but who is now questioning whether I should invest more money, I'd be interested in some dev feedback.

2. Earl Atogrim von Draken

Earl Atogrim von Draken Avatar

Can you Link the Vid please?