The Importance of "Tactile" Feeling in a 3D Game Engine

Discussion in 'Skills and Combat' started by Corlane, Feb 5, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Corlane

Corlane Avatar

I'll start this off by saying that I am neither a programmer nor a developer. I'm just a player. Furthermore, I'm fairly new to this pre-alpha, having just contributed a week or so ago. Keep or toss this long bit of feedback, as you like.

In my foray so far, there are a great many things I've liked. Most of it, really. I like the potential for richness that the world has, I like the focus on exploring and talking to generate "quests" (rather than mindlessly following arrows on a map to the next objective), I like the sand-box nature of the game systems and the diversity they potentially offer, and of course I like the fact that the player-base seems built out of the role-playing stock that these games were originally designed for.

But I feel like all of that is icing on the cake, and icing is irrelevant if the cake beneath isn't also high-quality.

This will seem like an unreasonable sticking point, but hear me out. At the core of this game - at the core of every 3D RPG - is the player's character and his physical interaction with the game world. The very first thing you do is move your character. Every action requires movement. Every step of combat requires movement. If that movement doesn't "feel good", if the character doesn't feel like he is impacted by the world he inhabits, everything starts to fall apart.