Think I may have broken my quest...& journal feedback

Discussion in 'Quests & Lore' started by kaeshiva, Jul 10, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kaeshiva

kaeshiva Avatar

So when I started playing a while ago I spoke to Stanley in Soltown and he gave me a letter to take to someone in someplace called Ardoris, which I had no idea where it was at the time. For a few weeks I carried this letter 'round, figuring I'd get around to it at some point. Then at some point I emptied the contents of my inventory into my bank - you know, Known Issues, Player Events book, various maps etc. Then at some point later I got myself a house and put a bunch of stuff in boxes there. I'd been to Ardoris plenty of times by this point, but never had the letter with me so figured I'd get around to it later. Then I switched houses a couple times so things ended up in the bank more than once.

Well, today I've decided I'm going to sort out this quest.
    I've gone to my bank -- no letter from Stanley
    I've looked through every chest, trunk, container, etc. at my house - no letter from Stanley.

Under current tasks in my Journal, it says I should go see Cugel in Ardoris and tell him I have Stanley's notes.
    Not having Stanley's notes, I went back to Stanley to see if I could get them again. He told me all of the same things and asked me to take his notes to Cugel, but didn't actually give me any more notes.

SO I went to Ardoris and talked to Cugel, who asks me what news from Stanley, but I can't progress the dialogue, presumably because I don't have the necessary item which seems to have just vanished. I completely blame myself for the mismanagement of such an important document but now it seems I can't progress the quest at all.