Dismiss Notice
This Section is READ ONLY - All Posts Are Archived

Displacing the fun with the added grind

Discussion in 'Release 15 Feedback' started by Burzmali, Mar 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Burzmali

Burzmali Avatar

So, the grind is finally making its way into SOTA, and it is doing so at the expense of fun. I'll just run down a quick list of the regressions since R14...

• Out of level harvesting is pointless. I've got a level 44 adventurer, I need to fight in places like the mysterious swamp to have enjoyable combats and level. Since I am a level 12 producer at the moment, I can't harvest in those higher level zones. Lesson: Harvesters with producer and adventurer levels out of sync will need to grind to rebalance.
    • Harvesting is slooow: Even with 3 levels in the speed up skill, harvesting trees took long enough that I was alt-tabbing out of the game to surf the forum. Lesson: Harvesters should buy a second monitor.
    • Crafting XP is a mess: This is probably going to be fixed by balancing, but the currently, if you want to be a crafter or harvester, your best bet is to grind trivial formulas for hours on end. Lesson: Harvesters should stop pounding sand and start pounding salt.
    • Mobile harvesting nodes (MHNs, sometimes referred to as "monsters") are more productive than stationary ones: Currently, MHNs refresh much faster and in higher numbers than their stationary counterparts, have the added benefit being of coming to you for harvesting. For reference, at the hide farm in Solace Forest, I was able to clear 100 hides in around 30 minutes.
    • Harvesting o-face is creepy as hell: I've mentioned this other places, but I don't think that mouth agape, eyes-in-the-back-of-the-head expression your character strikes as they handle a big ol' piece of wood or slice open a wolf can be overstated.

lollie, Kaisa and Moiseyev Trueden like this.
  2. Spoon

Spoon Avatar