Ethnocentric/ Quasi-religious Content in SotA

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kambrius, Dec 10, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vyrin

Vyrin Avatar

You assume quite a lot about me that is unfortunately untrue. What I said was based on the simple fact that when people want to express problems with religious content, they pick out Christian religious symbols. Re-read the thread and tell me that my statement is untrue. This is also somewhat of a rant into all sorts of unrelated topics.

Again, why do you attempt to claim to know what I think?

I'm sorry you want to play the credentials game. I have a PhD in Theology and Religious Studies. I won't say more. Why? Because I've wanted to hear other people discuss the issue and have been posting when I feel people aren't engaging the debate honestly. I personally don't have any concern about religious content of any type in the game. Your statements above do not reflect a serious engagement with these issues for the simple reason that you refer wikipedia as a source, and the fact that you try present a complex thesis statement with the support of one paragraph. You may feel an undergrad level of education gives you all the authority you need. That's your call to make. Feel free to continue to present your opinions. But making them sound like facts is not going to help you.

Nothing I said indicates that I was making the "classic religious argument" whatever that is. Your logic is invalid.

Plus, as someone who has studied these issues, being able to make coherent arguments matters. Consider how problematic your statement is here. You are basically saying you yourself can make an absolutely true statement about the fact that there can be nothing absolutely true. See the problem? Please don't try to argue your problematic statement here because it will only continue to reveal problems in your thinking.