Beginner questions

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by ConjurerDragon, Oct 8, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ConjurerDragon

ConjurerDragon Avatar

Not a beginner playing Ultima games but a complete newb playing multiplayergames.

After having played Shroud in Singleplayermode for a while I started to play online for the first time with the server going on again after the last release.

Solace Bridge outskirts certainly appears different when suddenly players run through all the places while the NPC´s are the only ones who are going instead of running...

Questions:
    1) With "0" on the keypad I can see "Nearby players". What does nearby mean? In my vicinity, visual range or simply anywhere on the map (Solace Bridge Outskirts)?
    2) Some players cut down trees and shoot zombies without stopping to collect anything. An hour ago I saw someone who used a distorted version of viking or such running up grom the river to the camp and I suspect he did fell the tree and the zombie. At what point is collecting the wood and loot fair game that was left lying?
    3) In the rocks where the Alpha Wolf has it´s territorry I observed a battle between a player and the Alpha Wolf and their health bars hardly moved and healed again while I watched. I assumed that the player was doing hardly any damage and released some arrows into the wolf to help. Is there any risk involved there (e.g. if I accidentally have the last shot and kill the monster, could I deprieve the player of his Alpha Wolf head)?

Beaumaris and FrostII like this.
  2. Alley Oop

Alley Oop Bug Hunter Bug Moderator

in the scene. players that are pvp-flagged will show a question mark.

for most of the period before loot despawns, it's tied to the player (or party, if they are in one) that it rightfully belongs to. you CAN'T steal their loot. there's a small period before it despawns where it's opened up to anyone. so if the game lets you take it, feel free.