Card System? huh? I'm confused

Discussion in 'Skills and Combat' started by Danirus, Jan 22, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Danirus

Danirus Avatar

I don't understand the logic of a randomised card system in a fast paced RPG.
    Is this going to be a 3D Magic: The Gathering game?

They said in a video that if you put more fireball spells in your deck you have a better chance of using a fireball spell in combat.

I really want Shroud of the Avatar to be an awsome game, just like UO was back in the day, but I don't want to see a turn based strategy card game in an mmorpg, I simply can't see how it would work.

As a chef by trade I never pick up a desert spoon to carve a roast just because there are more spoons in the kitchen.

PS. sorry for the new thread about this, I failed to notice the 'How the Deck system should work' thread :(

my bad

2. smack

smack Avatar

3. Danirus

Danirus Avatar

4. smack

smack Avatar

You should also read this thread on deck management skills to mitigate some of the randomness.

5. Violation Clauth

Violation Clauth Avatar

I also think it's going to be a skill differentiator for those of us who are able to adapt to pressing something other than 123 123 123 123 I WON! I'm personally stoked to see this role out and I really hope they do it right so there isn't enough backlash to remove it.

Phredicon and Lord Baldrith like this.
  6. Danirus

Danirus Avatar

I just replied to the thread mentioned above about a concern I have.

If a player is already engaged in PVE and a PKer comes along, how could they possibly defend themself if they can't swich decks on-the-fly to counter the attack?

I think PKers are going to have a field day if the devs don't get this right :p

7. Umbrae

Umbrae Avatar