Fun Fast Functional for the future of SOTA

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Greyfox, Jun 21, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Greyfox

Greyfox Avatar

The writing and warning signs have been on the wall for years. Those remaining in this community are some of the most dedicated spending many hours, money, effort, and care into this game.

I hope the future is bright but the current pathway is leading to terminal illness for this game. I am not a game developer I am a game player. So take my input for what it's worth, not much, but it's free.

Every feature, revision, removal, or nerf should follow a simple flowchart with the majority of the current and future game population in mind.

Development:
    Feature=(Fun+Fast+Functional) Yes=Implement;No=MOVE ON
    Repeat Loop

Examples:
    Adding the free row deeds for completion of quests, SUCCESS! THANKS!
    Slowing run speed in battle does not meet any of those requirements, FAIL!!!!!!
    PVP arena area copying other successful PVP games with a subset within this game=SUCCESS
    Open world PVP where gankers flourish and quit the game when they run out of sheep or easy kills=FAIL
    Creating new content but making it PVP/PVE to appease a small subset of "PVP" players in a non-pvp game=FAIL
    Amazing floating island in space as the starting area=SUCCESS
    Incredibly deep, functional, amazing, impactful sky/space in game=SUCCESS
    Restricting fast movement, making players run the same routes over and over to reach content=FAIL
    Extremely limited loot wanting player created loot with a low population and minimal economy=FAIL
    Severe death penalties, although not too bad now, caused many people to leave previously=FAIL
    Build specialization, they need improved to create more reason to specialize=SUCCESS!
    Randomized skills creating a random skillset on hotbar in real time combat in all iterations=FAIL
    Heat system on a static hotbar=SUCCESS