Long bow vs Short bow - which to use?

Discussion in 'Skills and Combat' started by Psylent, Sep 5, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Psylent

Psylent Avatar

I have been using a long bow since I started playing, only having tried using a short bow once and seeing how much less damage it was doing. Is there a reason to ever use a short bow over a long bow?

Thanks,

Psylent

2. Browncoat Jayson

Browncoat Jayson Legend of the Hearth

Effectively, no.

Longer answer, short bows are designed to be lower tier weapons which would be usable early in the game, and then players would move into using longbows. However, this design assumes there us some downside to using higher tier weapons, which there is not, so pkayers effectively ignore low-tier weapons like short bows, short swords, etc, and go for the better weapons immediately.

If they want to fix thus, Port's going to need to put skill requirements on gear, or make them have the same stats, otherwise there is an entire batch of gear that will simply never be used.

Fister Magee and 4EverLost like this.
  3. MrBlight

MrBlight Avatar

Found the shortbow lacking imensly. The speed for max draw is short but i found it wasnt worth it for the low damage or shorter range.
    That being said there might be builds who prefer that closer quarter quicker bursting shortbow, but it wasnt for me.

One of my buddies said he was running shortbow, when he plays healer.. but i havnt found a reason to pick one up myself.

4. helm

helm Avatar