The journey of an ancient music sheet (Tales of a musician in SotA, part 1)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Eveara, Mar 10, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Eveara

Eveara Avatar

Friends!

Y'all know what this is:
    [​IMG]

But do y'all know what this is?...

[​IMG]

It's a traditional musical instrument from China, called a guzheng (古筝). It's a zither – like the piano. Well... Sort of. Piano seems to be considered a 'true board zither with resonator box', when guzheng – according to Hornbostel–Sachs – is considered a 'heterochord half-tube zither in the chordophone category'.

Now try and say that out loud while keeping a straight face. :x

And guzheng is what I play in RL (... I apologize to those who thought I was a talented pianist... I'm not. At all. For real, I suck at piano).

It means that for most of you guys, music sheets look like this:

[​IMG]
    (from 'The Entertainer' (Scott Joplin) – public domain)​

When, for me, they usually look... like this:

[​IMG]
    (from '几多愁' (谭建常) – public domain)​

Because traditional music from China is written using a numbered notation called jianpu.

Now... a bit of musical magic.

See that bunch of numbers above? They're part of this specific music sheet.

It's a traditional piece for guzheng (original title: 几多愁), written by 谭建常 (Tan Jan Chang) based on the poem 虞美人 ('Corn Poppies'). That poem was written by the South Tang Emperor 李煜 (Li Yu) who lived during the Xth century.

When (beautifully) played on guzheng, it sounds like this:

And I sort of want to see what I can do with it, for SotA.

So... Let's start by rewriting the base melody using letter notation and type it in Aria Maestosa. Then, let's try and flesh it out a little bit – for it to sound good when played on a western instrument:

[​IMG]

A quick check on a visualizer, just to make sure there's no unwanted gap / overlap:

[​IMG]

And now that we have a basic (but functional) .midi file... let's code it: