After 4 days of playing this is what I know

Discussion in 'New Player Welcome' started by Lyndoman, Nov 11, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lyndoman

Lyndoman Avatar

1. I shall be sticking around and making this game my primary game, replacing Eve ( Before that it's been City Skylines, Ark....etc)

2. The most frustrating things are, in this order:
    • Lags and crashes (willing to burden whilst in this phase of dev and perfectly reasonable with a game such as this)
    • Questing. Erm, half the time I have no idea what is going on and find it clunky. This I expect to be honed and polished as the game develops
    • The adventure exp points system. An interesting way to approach this issue, but I don't think it's quite there yet. I can never kill enough, do enough or find enough quests to make it go up. But, I'm a noob and there is an obvious and tasty learning curve. My thoughts are that for more casual players this needs refinement and less cognitive burden on how it actually works. The way I interpret it, is I need to buy better gear so I can kill more faster.
      Questing is an option, but the map is so big, the locations so many it's confusing to know the path which to take. I realise the "WOW Question mark, this is a quest over here", system seems not to be highly regarded, but it got the job done. Perhaps a hybrid model, quest NPC's have a different hair cute or a certain brooch, just something that eases the cognitive burden on the user.
      Because as this is such a complex game as of now, (which I love) any easing of the cognitive burden in certain parts helps improve the "flow".
      Books that come to mind regarding this issue are "Don't make me think", by Krug and "Flow", by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi. Which can easily be applied to the gaming experience.
    3. The things I love
    • The Novia map and getting around the World
    • The community of positive and experienced, helpful gamers